top of page
Book Reviews: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureGrace Nask

Day 22 - Glasses

Hey guys! Grace Nask here with Day 22 of the April Challenge. Today we have Glasses, a poem for all ages. It's about the struggles and inconveniences of living under a rock. So let's get to it!


Glasses

By: Grace Nask


They are one inch by two inches

No thicker than a penny on its side

Yet they encompass my entire world.


I do not need to cry to watch the world’s tears

Fall. They coat my universe,

Little blotches smudging my vision,

Overtaking my sight.


I try to wash them away

With rags older than me

But they can only

Smear and grow

Until the world’s tears become my own.


The only way to escape is to

Take off my glasses,

But I can’t.


For to take off my glasses

Would be to close myself off

To what is perceived as the real world.

One that is becoming

More and more

Real than me.


To take off my glasses

Would be to close myself off

To the voices I can’t yet recognize.

The pleas crying for help. and

The hands reaching out to link them together.

And sure the

Fire and flood

Would become blurs of primary colors,

But so would

Everything else.


That’s not a world I want to live in.

And so I take up my glasses

Once more.


Recent Posts

See All

Day 30 - Things People Say

Hey guys! Grace Nask here with--gasp--Day 30 of the April Challenge! We made it to the end! Today we have Things People Say, a poem for all ages. It's about social norms and customs. So let's get to i

Day 29 - The Hidden, Haunted, and Helped Finale

Hey guys! Grace Nask here with Day 29 of the April Challenge. Today we have the rest of The Hidden, Haunted, and Helped, a short story for teens and above. If you missed yesterday, our protagonist is

Day 28 - The Hidden, Haunted, and Helped Part One

Hey guys! Grace Nask here with Day 28 of the April Challenge. Today we have some of The Hidden, Haunted, and Helped, a short story for teens and above. It's about someone trying to rescue her brother

bottom of page