top of page
Book Reviews: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureGrace Nask

Day 10 - You Be the Poet

Hey guys! Grace Nask here with Day 10 of the April Challenge. Today we have You Be the Poet, a poem for all ages. Its about the struggles the world is facing in this day and age. So let's get to it!


For Charlesbridge, who two years ago yesterday gave me my first form rejection letter. It stung, but that was the first day I became a true writer.



You Be the Poet

By: Grace Nask


I can’t write you poetry.

I’m sorry; I can't.

I can’t write those little rhyming stanzas

Or neat lines that all start just so.

I can’t create pictures of

Bunnies or butterflies or roses.


It’s hard to feel the sunshine when the world is flooding

And my grandfather’s in the hospital

And we’re moving

And Corona’s running rampant through the streets

And my friends are at risk

And I haven’t had school in I don’t even know

And I’m stressed out

And the rain turned into hail twenty pages ago

So people are begging for some sort of comfort

And I’m supposed to say something inspiring but

I CAN’T.


I’m sorry; I can’t.

I can transport you anywhere in the world,

But the whole globe is feeling this, so

It’s not helpful.

I can’t give you the sun and have it dry up all that rain because I’m

Not a poet, not today.

I’m just a woman with words screaming, screaming, screaming inside,

Pouring out on the page.


And maybe they’re helpful but just for one day

You make your own sunshine, and I’ll sit and soak it in.

You write the words, and I’ll come to you and read.

You become the poet, because I can’t write you poetry.

Not today.


Recent Posts

See All

Day 30 - Things People Say

Hey guys! Grace Nask here with--gasp--Day 30 of the April Challenge! We made it to the end! Today we have Things People Say, a poem for all ages. It's about social norms and customs. So let's get to i

Day 29 - The Hidden, Haunted, and Helped Finale

Hey guys! Grace Nask here with Day 29 of the April Challenge. Today we have the rest of The Hidden, Haunted, and Helped, a short story for teens and above. If you missed yesterday, our protagonist is

Day 28 - The Hidden, Haunted, and Helped Part One

Hey guys! Grace Nask here with Day 28 of the April Challenge. Today we have some of The Hidden, Haunted, and Helped, a short story for teens and above. It's about someone trying to rescue her brother

bottom of page