top of page
Book Reviews: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureGrace Nask

What Happened to Goodbye

Anyone who’s had the (arguable) pleasure of critiquing my novels knows that I love messing around with the meaning of a name and how nicknames in light of which character says them affect the plot. So of course I fell in love with What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen, a YA novel about a girl trying to figure out who she is in light of her parents’ divorce and recent move.


The characters are so realistic and relatable. Despite the ensemble cast (working with a lot of characters in one novel), each one envelopes good characterization, strong motivation, and a distinct personality. My two favorites are April, who’s always getting dragged into doing things, and Deb, who reminds me of myself with her infinite clubs and loner persona.


Dessen is yet another master of the quiet moment; she can take the most mundane scene and make it everything. Even something as simple as Mclean, the protagonist, going to the school nurse transforms into a deep conversation about the stakes and meaning of true friendship.


A lot of YA authors pour the whole book into the romance. Don’t get me wrong, I love good chemistry now and then, but only if it’s merited. What Happened to Goodbye doesn’t insult the protagonist by having everything be about that relationship love. Rather, it sneaks up on you and feels natural. Not only that, but Mclean’s whole world doesn’t revolve around Dave; she has friends, family, work--a life. Dave just happens to be a part of that life, something I appreciate.


Recommended for anyone who isn’t sure of themselves.

--Grace Nask


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page