top of page
Book Reviews: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureGrace Nask

Poison

I love love love fourth wall breaking; it’s the best, and I find it hilarious. Naturally, I fell in love with Poison, a high fantasy YA novel about a girl on an epic quest to save her sister, by Chris Wooding.


With high fantasy, sometimes the plot can be a bit on the cliche side; Poison was anything but. The whole plot twisted and turned like a river. I didn’t see any of the plot twists coming, especially towards the end and with Azalea.


Fourth wall breaking is great; fourth wall breaking as an integral part of the plot is even better. I loved the whole feel of the piece. It reminded me of The Storyteller, another book I loved for its unique plot. All books about books leave lots of room for fun, so I enjoyed reading it.


I don’t typically like books that use the main character’s first name as a title, for it’s been overdone and doesn’t add anything to the story. Poison is an exception, and you’ll see why when you reach the end (I won’t tell). The title and first sentence are the best I’ve seen in awhile.


Of course, all would be for naught without great characters. From surly Poison to timid Peppercorn to steadfast Bram, each has a unique disposition and point in the story. Don’t forget Fleet, whose role is a giant mystery in itself. And, of course, Azalea, Poison’s sister, who propels the story along while somehow still seeming to be a character in her own right.


Recommended for anyone who enjoys books about books.

--Grace Nask


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page