top of page
Book Reviews: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureGrace Nask

every last word Book Review

I’m not too big on change. So when I tell you that every last word by Tamara Ireland Stone, a young adult novel about a teen dealing with her Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, is my new favorite book, it’s a big deal.

It’s funny it’s romantic it’s heartbreaking it’s authentic. The authenticity to both the teen experience and mental health issues bleeds through the pages. It takes all of the reader’s emotions and churns them in a way that makes them uncomfortable yet unable to put the book down. Sam is unique yet universal in her struggle to understand both herself and her place in the world.

Hands down the best part is the way Ireland Stone handles the plot twist. It’s every reader’s dream: the actual twist blows them away because they never saw it coming, but once they’re in on the secret, they can find the thousand pieces of subtle foreshadowing before that point leading them to that moment. It makes the story exciting but also encourages a reread to find all the hidden clues placed within the piece.

Some young adult authors have issues coming in way too hot with their romances, but this one’s gradual progression makes sense. Again, it goes back to authenticity. Sam’s relationship feels like something you’d see in a high school hallway, just two people trying to be understood. The romance adds to Sam’s other difficulties rather than stealing the spotlight, as it is sometimes prone to do.

“You’re still here / stitched into me, like threads in a sweater. // Feeding me words / that break me down and piece me back / together, all at once. // Tightening your grip, / reminding me that I’m not alone. // I never was. / None of us ever are. // You are still here / stitched into the words on these walls. // Every last one.”

Recommended for anyone who’s felt a little different but a lot loved.

--Grace Nask


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page